Nicky. In. Progress.

–and something about design, writing, being an art student and whatnot

Waiting for the Bus – 3D Maya Animation

I just finished my 4th ever ISP, and I gotta say it’s the biggest and most rewarding so far.

The last three times we got a theme and could do whatever we want with it. This time we got lots of constraints, most notably it has to be 3D and made in Autodesk Maya. There was a selection of themes and I chose “Bus stop”. Themes are like challenges to me, but unlike the previous three ISPs I didn’t want to spend time making some ultra fantastic conceptual plot with super advanced camera angles and whatnot.

I wanted to concentrate on purely, the animation. Take a look, this was my assignment: A walk & jump cycle.

Honestly I think it’s kind of nice for my first 3D walk cycle, but I’d like some practice before I’m confident. Hence, for ISP it’s gonna be single camera, single set, single character (and a beach ball for good measure)

Testing scene composition, some textures and lighting

Testing scene composition, some textures and lighting

Pose blocking for my Maya 3D animation

Pose blocking for my Maya 3D animation

(In case the gifs aren’t moving, click on the thumbnail)

Ran into a few problems (one gave me a heart attack). I used a script to rig the character’s body instead of doing it all manually, and I think I broke the script partway because the wrist was “breaking”. Worse still was, nearing submission, I found that despite rendering normally in Render View, it’ll break again once I do a Batch Render. Luckily I scoured the web for a solution and used a script to “fix it”.

2 comments on “Waiting for the Bus – 3D Maya Animation

  1. Wibisono
    April 28, 2013

    I always love your work Good job my son You know, I am your biggest fan

    I Love You

    Sent from Wibisono iPad

  2. Pingback: College, then Practice, then Internship | Nicky. In. Progress.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 28, 2013 by in 3D Modelling, Animation and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
